University of York

The University of York is one of the UKs leading research-led Universities. The Computer Science Department is consistently ranked in the top 10 in the UK league tables. The recent Research Assessment Exercise ranked the majority of the department’s Research as either world-leading or internationally excellent. The department has 9 research groups which work across disciplines, and is renowned for its close collaborations with industry. The department recently received an Athena SWAN award for its commitment to women in science. The Real-Time Systems Research Group (RTSG) was founded in 1990 and is one of the largest research groups in this area in the world. Currently, it has 6 permanent academics, 25 PhD students/postdocs. Its reputation is reflected by the EPSRC International Review of Computer Science in 2002:

"Finally, the University of York has one of the world’s leading research groups in real-time and embedded systems. These researchers are credited with a significant body of research in static real-time scheduling theory. They have also demonstrated how to employ these theoretical results in practice, by accounting for networking and operating system overheads. This combination of theory and practice has resulted in important and practical applications of their work. The group is strong in applying formal methods to the design and analysis of safety-critical systems". 

The group has continued to perform at this high level since this review.

Team Members

  • Iain Bate
  • Benjamin Lesage
  • David Griffin
  • Frank Soboczenski